Destiny 2 The Final Shape Release Date and Server Downtime

Kyuma |  Published: June 03, 2024
img

Get ready for Destiny 2: The Final Shape with this guide on launch times, server downtime, and more.

Destiny 2 players are eagerly waiting for the release of the new expansion, The Final Shape. This expansion marks the end of the Light and Dark saga. Before diving into the new content, it is important to know the launch times and server downtime details.

Destiny 2 The Final Shape Server Downtime

Destiny 2 The Final Shape Server Downtime
Image Credits: Steam

Bungie will take the Destiny 2 servers offline on June 3 at 9 am PT (12 pm ET, 5 pm BST) for maintenance. The servers will remain offline for approximately 25 hours. This extended downtime ensures that everything is ready for the launch of The Final Shape.

The Final Shape Launch Time

Destiny 2 The Final Shape Launch Time
Image Credits: Steam

The Final Shape will officially launch on June 4 at 10 am PT (1 pm ET, 6 pm BST). This launch time aligns with the usual weekly reset in Destiny 2. Players in different time zones should note the corresponding launch times:

  • West Coast North America: 10 am PT
  • East Coast North America: 1 pm ET
  • United Kingdom: 6 pm BST
  • Europe: 7 pm CET
  • Australia: 3 am AEST (June 5)
  • Japan: 2 am JST (June 5)

Keep in mind that high server traffic during the launch may cause login issues or delays. Be patient and keep an eye on the Bungie Help Twitter account for updates on any extended downtime or launch issues.

Pre-Launch Checklist

Before the servers go offline, there are several tasks Destiny 2 players should complete:

  1. Claim Seasonal and Playlist Rewards: Seasonal content and the “Into the Light” playlist will be vaulted with the launch of The Final Shape. Make sure to claim any remaining seasonal engrams and rewards before they become unavailable.
  2. Equip Your Preferred Gear: The Destiny API may experience issues during the expansion launch. Equip the gear you plan to use in The Final Shape to avoid relying on third-party tools for transfers.
  3. Redeem Bungie Rewards: Check the Bungie rewards page to see if you have earned any redeemable items, such as the glow-in-the-dark Archie plush from the “Where is Archie?” questline.
  4. Customize Your Guardian: Use the character customization feature to give your Guardian a fresh look. If you enable the “helmet off” option, your character’s face will be animated in most cutscenes throughout The Final Shape.

Preloading The Final Shape

Players can preload The Final Shape on Steam, Epic, or Microsoft platforms. Preloading will be available shortly after the game is taken offline for server maintenance on June 3. This allows players to have the expansion ready to play as soon as the servers come back online.